credentialing question

I am a recent graduate and started a position at an outpatient practice who has never used midlevels before. I was recently credentialed through medicare, but am waiting on credentials from the other insurance companies that my practice takes. In terms of seeing patients and billing, how does it typically work if you are not credentialed through all of the insurance companies? Am I able to see patients and bill under my SP as long as my SP also sees and examines those patients? Since my SP has never employed a mid-level, both of us are unsure of how this typically works in other practices.

Thanks!

I am a recent graduate and started a position at an outpatient practice who has never used midlevels before. I was recently credentialed through medicare, but am waiting on credentials from the other insurance companies that my practice takes. In terms of seeing patients and billing, how does it typically work if you are not credentialed through all of the insurance companies? Am I able to see patients and bill under my SP as long as my SP also sees and examines those patients? Since my SP has never employed a mid-level, both of us are unsure of how this typically works in other practices.

Thanks!

Ask how they have traditionally billed for other physicians. Some may have you hold and bill when credentialed (unlikely). Most will have you bill under another physician. Finally very few insurance plans credential PAs and have you bill under the physicians NPI.

in general

if the Insurance company credentials PA's you can see the patient (and for IM or FP you can see them with out regard to where your SP is - not sure about surg and specialities)