Personal Statement

Any critiques are appreciated! This is my first time applying and my second draft of my statement :).

Fifteen years ago I closed my eyes on a warm day in June, so that I would not have to watch them drift away.  They were nineteen large white balloons, eighteen of them for every year my sister, Amy, was alive. That day would have been her nineteenth birthday. The last balloon was for us, her family, the remainder from a tragic division of a negligent plastic surgery procedure.  I watched my family plant a tree next to her grave that day, its feeble branches clutching at the sky. This was not the expected kind of death (not that it is ever expected), but the kind that disrupts every crevice and corner of living, the kind that shatters the soul, and later reshapes it.  My life was disrupted irrevocably.  I opened my eyes to the reality of watching the helium-filled ball hit the atmosphere, the last vestige of my childhood. I knew that life would never be the same, and I have spent every moment since trying to fill the hole Amy left behind her in my life and in my career.