1st draft- please critique

Hey guys,

So this is my first attempt at writing my person statement and wanted some feedback. I just read the PS advise topic and know I'm going to need to tweak this essay to avoid some clichés. Thanks in advance for all the constructive criticism.

--

I never enjoyed going to the doctor, as I always associated doctors with bad news. As I sat in the examination room, I wondered if I would like this doctor compared to my previous one. Debating this, I was met by a man with a monotone voice who was trying to explain a test to me, however, he was too technical in his explanation. I was schedule to come in for another test in two weeks. When I returned two weeks later I was seen Melissa, the physician assistant at my doctor's office. Melissa was the complete opposite of my doctor. She wasn't too technical and always made sure I understood everything she told me. Her tone made me feel like she cared about my well-being as well as the service she provided me as her patient. I am grateful for meeting Melissa because she sparked my interest in becoming a PA.

Sometimes I think that although my childhood was considered "abnormal" by a few social workers, the damaged pieces fell perfectly in place when I discovered what I wanted to do with my life. Before I turned thirteen these same social workers believed that what I considered a basic value of helping others was actually me missing out on childhood. Although my parents and my three older brothers and I lived through poverty, we managed to support each other every day throughout my "absent childhood." While everyone in my family fell apart when my mother passed away in 2005, I felt her support and encouragement that she had given me intensified in her absence. I felt obligated to straighten up my act to prove to her as well as to everyone who doubted me that the values I was taught would help me succeed in life