New Job Contract help

Hey Everyone,

I am a relatively new grad transitioning from my current job after only a few months to orthopedic surgery in Los Angeles. I have several more questions to ask the employer such as call schedule/flexibility, patient load, holiday staffing, etc. but my main concern after first reading the contract is malpractice coverage:

$105,000 annually

Health Insurance

Malpractice Insurance - claims made, not covering tail

2wks PTO...which includes personal time/sick days

No CME allowance

At will termination

Private practice with credentialing at 3 area hospitals. 

I feel the salary is good, and I can stomach the vacation time, however I'm going to ask about 3 weeks if it is to include sick days and at least $500 CME. My MAIN concern is not providing tail coverage, which is a huge problem if I leave for whatever reason. Estimates are 150-300% of premium and if a P3 premium is approx $7,000, I don't feel like footing the bill. Anyone have strategies to negotiate this? I will be asking for his certificate of coverage to see how he is structuring me into liability coverage, but I feel like I might try to have him reimburse me for my personal occurrence coverage through the AAPA endorsed insurance. Thoughts?

WOOOOOOOOOOhhhhhhhhhhh

2 weeks PTO

NO CME (do they have any idea that we need to get CME for our license?)

Honestly this is a practice that is dangling a high salary in front of you hoping you will bite, with likely horrible conditions to follow - you will fry/burn out, with only 2 weeks off a year

CME for most should bee 2k+ and a week

PTO - 3 weeks min

Vacation/holiday/sick in addition to this

somewhere around 40 days off a year is reasonable, and I have had as many as 60

Be VERY careful with the dangling carrot.....

• 3 weeks later...