ER - what to expect

I am a new grad and just recently acquired a job in a rural single coverage ER. I am super excited about the autonomy that I will have and the opportunity for learning a ton. Truly my dream job. But I am understandably intimidated. Anything that I can review or know cold so that I can feel a shred of confidence when I start in 2 months? Or any advice?

Thanks

That's a tough job for a new grad. I worked up to a position like this after almost 2 decades as an em pa and 10 yrs before that as an er tech and paramedic.

hopefully you have significant high level prior experience like rn, paramedic, r.t., etc. or you may find yourself over your head very quickly.

I just started working a similar job last summer and keep a binder of stuff around which includes TPA for stroke info, TNK for Stemi info, reversal info for various anticoagulants, and OB emergency info. also reminder cards for procedural sedation and RSI. know the difficult airway and difficult IV access stuff cold. know how to put in IOs and all of the acls algorithms cold. know about Bipap and this may save you from having to attempt some difficult intubations. know about early goal directed therapy in sepsis.

coursework which would be very helpful for you and which you should take asap:

acls/atls/pals/difficult airway course.

after those consider the following: ALSO (OB), FCCS (critical care), ABLS (burns).

attend a procedures workshop on LPs, central lines, paracentesis, nerve blcoks, and dislocation and fracture reduction.

what state is this job in?

Job is in Tennessee, I was an army medic for a number of years before PA school. Apparently, from what I asked about in the interview, I will mostly be relegated to the fast track, it's a 15 bed ER that now handles chest pain but sends out for anything stroke related. Also I was told by the medical director that it is mostly medical and very little trauma.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk