Scared

I'm learning a lot in school but I still get the feeling I'm not prepared for the working world and am kind of scared to be out there on my own after I graduate. It seems like some PA jobs are routine and once you get the hang of it, but I'm not entirely sure. It's all so scary!

I'm a recent graduate and just passed the PANCE yesterday. I'll also start my training/work next month. Like you, I'm not sure what to expect and feels scared that I will not have my preceptor's shadow behind me all the time. I'll be by myself! But we have to do it. We have to pace ourselves learning the things we have to learn, one day at a time. We can't learn and digest the vast knowledge of medicine in one day or one week. It will take some time. We have to use all the resources that we can get in order to make our jobs easier. We'll have our supervising physicians, nurses, and colleagues around us. Don't be afraid to ask questions if you don't know what to do. Remember, we have to be confident and competent at the same time in front of our patients. So, relax, enjoy school, and look forward to work outside and realizing your dreams, one day at a time.

• 2 weeks later...

It's about 4 years before you really get your sea legs. Every year you work you'll feel like you've doubled or more your knowledge base. Learn to diagnose. If you can diagnose it, you can find in a book somewhere how to treat it. Find a good precepting physician and you are set. NHSC locations are usually great for this.