Newly certified PA-need advice

Hey All!

I need some advice but first some background. I graduated Dec. 2010--I was a good student and overall, did well in PA school. I took PANCE on 6/11-didnt pass. In the meantime I worked for my father (nonmedical/business), since it seemed like he was spread way too thin and needed some help due to my mom's quiting of the family business for health reason. This I expected to last about 6 months to a year but due to the slow economy, we were unable to tie up all his business interests without suffering a huge loss and so the time dragged on. During this time my mom's health took a turn for worse and then my dad's health-- I did all that needed to be done (on the business end and managing their health) and now overall everyone is doing well and in a better position (health and business-wise). So now its been over 2.5 years since graduation, I took my PANCE-8/13--PASSED! Have all my license paperwork in and do not expect anything to delay the already long process.

Now, how do I explain all this during an interview process?? I don't want to sound like I am making excuses, or long winded. Life happens and I did the best I could, especially since it concerned my parents livelihood and health-no regrets! Plus, even though I kept up with my studies, read up on new medical advancements and have added to my CME 1&2 hours since certification, I am like a new grad as far as clinical experience goes. What jobs do I look for?  Do I mention my first PANCE? Also I probably have to do the "reentry" into medicine process for my license. Anyone familar with that process? How do I approach my potential job interviews with that? I hope this all made sense.

Thank you in advance.

Life, like $hit, happens.

Everyone knows this.

Folks get cancer in their MS4 year, and lose ability to interview and match..

You graduated from PA school

$hit happened. You couldn't start until you cleaned up that stuff.

You took the exam and now are ready to go.