Applicants for 2014 Program Start

Hello,

I haven't seen a post with regards to UNM for quite a while? I just relocated to NM with my wife who just got a job with Presbyterian. I just submitted my CASPA application, but no idea how difficult it is getting an interview and/or acceptance into the program. Is there anyone else out there applying to UNM? Is there anyone out there how is in the UNM PA program now and has any insight? I'm studying for my GRE now and will take it in the next month along with CHEM II, otherwise I have all the required prerequisites with a science GPA of 3.6 and Bachelors Program GPA of 3.47 despite CASPA's ridiculous GPA calculation, I"m hoping prospective schools will or can see beyond it. I know that UNM is under probation sort of speak, but from my research it appears to just be a technicality. Any response(s) would be appreciated.

I'm not applying this cycle, but my older cousin just started the 2013 cycle a couple months ago. From what she said, as long as you are a NM resident and have strong ties to the state, it is fairly straight forward to get an interview. If you don't, you really have to shine on paper to be considered. They are interested in keeping students trained at UNM in NM instead of leaving so you would also have to demonstrate that. They take a more holistic view with their applicants too. My cousin was out of school for almost 5 years and worked as a radiology tech for that time, she had low GRE scores and okay GPA. All things considered, her extensive HCE and shadowing doctors helped her with admissions too. Hope that helps!