Pre-med certificate vs. Pre-PA program.

I'm a mid-career professional wanting to become a P.A. I have a B.A. in Sociology and Anthropology, an M.F.A. in Creative Writing and was licensed to practice massage therapy in two states. I haven't practiced massage since 2010. I also taught for two years in massage program teaching A&P as well as massage theory and technique. I already know I'll have to retake a lot of the science courses and have no problem with that. I live in Los Angeles and UCLA Extension offers a pre-med certificate which offers the pre-requisities for applying to PA school. I could start courses as early as this summer. However, I am looking at pre-PA programs some of which offer direct admission to M.S. programs after the B.S. has been completed. I'm trying to decided which way to go. Doing my pre-requisites at UCLA is beneficial because I don't have to move. My main in concern is getting the hands on health care experience. As a massage therapist, I worked for chiropractors, acupuncturists as well as for resorts. Since, I practiced massage for well over nine years, I have a lot of hours working with patients. However, I know some PA schools don't consider massage in counting hours. It seems that most of the pre-PA programs are back on the east coast or mid-west which means moving. However, it might be worth considering since there is help in clinical experience and I wouldn't have to apply again to PA school.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Toni B.

I took my classes in Whittier at Southern California University of Health Science's Integrated Science Program. Classes are Sat/Sun 8am - 6pm. Classes are expensive but just wanted to make you aware of it in addition to the UCLA Extension classes.