Temporal Thermometers - accuracy?

I've seen a couple ED's use temporal thermometers and am wondering how accurate these thermometers are. A quick review of the abstracts on pubmed appears to show that half the studies say they are accurate and the other states that they are not. Also, a majority of the studies seemed to have been conducted on the pediatric population.

1) Anyone use one at their work?

2) Is there a landmark/definitive study that validates this type of measurement?

3) Are they accurate when used on adults?

I used one for two months supplemental to the oral and rectal thermometers at my ER (Im an ER Tech and take temps on everyone who comes in 30 days and older of age). I found them to be highly inaccurate. I did my best to rule out user error as well by having other staff members use them which confirmed their unreliability. I also tested three different brands of temporal scanners. One such instance I can recall was a septic patient. Temporal came back at 98.2 versus rectal temp of 105.3.

You should add 4) How does one properly use a Temporal Thermometer?

As an ER RN in a small ED, I often take my patient's vital signs, including temp. One thing I noticed is instruments are only as accurate as its application. Use it wrong, get wrong results. Use it properly, get great results. For example, lodging the rectal thermometer's probe in stool can skew its results. Not properly straightening the external auditory canal interferes with tympanic thermometer accuracy. I often see patients whose oral temp doesn't match their clinical presentation. They are tachycardic, have complaints of fever/chills, "feels ill," productive cough, etc. A repeat oral temp (after being NPO) about 1/2 - 1 hours later shows a higher temp ( sometimes as much as 3 - 4 degrees F).