Advice wanted

Hello all,

As most of you are older and more experienced in the game of life than I am I am hoping to get your input on something that is occupying my thoughts almost every minute of every day. I am a new grad PA in Canada where the profession is relatively new. I never really wanted to be a PA though. I had initially set-out on becoming a physician and after completing an undergraduate degree in medicine I started in an MD program in the USA. I did not get in in Canada but did get into a school in NY state. For various reasons (mostly financial) I was unable to complete medical school at the time and being greatly in debt from student loans I returned home tail between my legs knowing I needed a way to make a living.

I jumped on the chance to do the PA program. It seemed perfect in that I could go to school for a short time and start making good money. Well, I did this.

I am 30 years old and work full time as a PA. Due to all my schooling I owe about $180,000.00 in loans combined to both my bank and government student loan services. I have tried to convince myself that I can be content and happy as a PA. That I should pay off my debt and move on with my life being the best PA I can be and forget about becoming a physician.

The problem is, I have not convinced myself. I guess I am hoping you guys can convince me.

If I still want to pursue med school it will mean going back and redoing a regular degree to improve my chances of admission. It would mean even more debt. It would mean I won't ever really have any money until I am in my mid 40s. Going back to the US school I was it is not an option.

I want to be happy and content as a PA but dreams die hard and I have wanted to be a physician since I was a kid.

Everyday I go to work and work with physicians I am troubled. It bothers me that I am not one. That's bad for a PA. But that's how I feel.

I feel I am at a cross roads and I really don't know what to do here. Maybe I just needed to vent.