Advice for a non-tradtional Pre-PA? Masters vs. Pre-reqs

Hey guys! New to the forum, but I was hoping to get an honest opinion as I'm sure a few of you have been in my shoes.

I ****ed up. My undergraduate years resulted in some sad looking grades. I re-took multiple classes to end up with a 2.8. Well, this doesn't bode well for CASPA when the majority of my caseload was science (bio major). My calculated GPAs do not qualify me for any school though I do have passing grades (A's, B's, and some C's) in my pre-requisite coursework. It's been a few years, and I am ready for the dedication towards PA. I took the GRE in November and did ok (155V, 159Q, 4) and I've been a lab tech for a few years with phlebotomy for my patient contact. So, I'm looking at 2 options and they are:

1 - Re-take some prerequisites this next year and absolutely destroy them, in a good way. A's all around this time. The problem is that this scenario isn't going to really HELP my GPA, but maybe just show that I am dedicated and provides a solid base. I just don't know if this would even stand out to an admissions committee? Would they notice this hard work?

2 - Apply to some Special Master's Programs (SMP) that are specifically for enhancing GPA. They are one-year master's degree programs with tough science curriculum specifically for students with lower GPAs as a sort of last-ditch effort to show academic growth before med/dental/PA application time. Now, these grades wouldn't replace my *Ugh* other GPA, but I would have A's in graduate school, and a Master's to show at the end of it (although a Master's in Medical Science doesn't do much, but makes me feel better! Ha)