Need Advice to be more competitive... what should my next step be?

Hi guys...

I'm new to posting, so please bear with me (it's a bit long). I've gone through many threads trying to gain as much perspective as I can regarding the application process, but it has left me with a big question before applying. Some background:

I'm an older student who recently graduated with a dual science major in Biological Sciences and Health Sciences. Due to some health emergencies and deaths in the family, my GPA dropped half-way through my degree. I was able to have an upward trend when I returned and obtain a ~3.2 GPA at graduation (lower science GPA). Due to the number of credits I have (specifically sciences courses), it is very difficult for me to raise my GPA any further.

I live in CA, but will be applying to both in-state and out-of-state schools when the time comes. In addition to shadowing, I've been working with patients at as a neurofeedback technician for 6 years (adults and children), had an internship working with patients for 4 months at an urgent care clinic under supervision of a PA and DO (taking vitals, patient histories, etc.), worked in a chiropractic office prepping patients for the doctor for 1 year, and worked front office in a DO office for 3 years. In total (with shadowing), I have over 10,000 hours... yet I'm not certified (in discussion with my supervisor to get board certified neurofeedback). At my current job, I'm considered a technician but was trained on-site. I've taken 2 EMT courses with associated internships, but didn't proceed to get my certification (I was young and thought it would be too difficult to be an EMT and a full-time student at the same time).

So, knowing my GPA isn't that high or competitive and that my direct-patient contact is not certified and/or not paid, do I: