Career change to PA, advice please.

I am a Corporate Finance professional with about 8 years of experience. I have a BBA in Finance and my MBA (Masters of Business Administration). Recently I have had the thought of leaving the business world and pursuing a medical career. I have looked at the admissions requirements at the closest PA schools. While I was earning my undergrad I worked in the ER as a patient tech for three years. My questions are.

1) i worked in the ER from 2002-2005, is that experience still relevant as it pertains to meeting the admissions requirements?

2) is it practical to assume that if I completed the minimum science courses that would be ok or do I really need a science undergrad?

I am ok with taking a course or two a semester to get the roughly 36 required hours for admissions. I am also ok with taking a pay cut upon graduating and taking 3 years off of work to go back to school to do something I would enjoy.

I plan to inquire with the institutions themselves but wanted to get some advice from some folks that have a more practical view.

Rhanks,

46&2

You can make the change but it's a lot of work. You don't need another degree, just take the science prerequisites. My background was business and I started the career change last year. I have an MBA as well and schools do look at people with various backgrounds. Regarding your previous healthcare experience I would contact each school individually to see if you need more current experience. If you do need something more recent maybe look into some per diem jobs to keep it current while going back to school. It is possible to continue working at your business job while taking prerequisites if you're from So Cal as there are some schools that offer courses on sat/sun only.

Here are two posts that you may want to read:

Post #9

http://www.PhysicianAssistantForum.Com/forums/showthread.php/34848-Burnout-Tips-on-Dealing-With-It?highlight=Burn+out

Post #1