Personal statement.... Please critique/bash/edit, I appreciate anything :)

I am a first time applicant by the way :)

My passion for the medical field has developed from the respect and admiration for the women in my family. My mother, a pediatric pathologist, showed me the mysterious aspect of medicine only seen behind the lens of a microscope. My Aunt Cecilia, who was once a registered nurse in pediatric oncology, provided hope for children and their families, while she, herself suffered from similar symptoms of a low immune system.

My decision to aspire the career of a physician assistant was not a single, life-changing event, but, instead, being influenced by two women who dedicated their life to medicine and losing one along the way. As a nurse, my Aunt Cecilia made sure to bring along a smile anywhere she went. Over the years, I watched her smile gradually began to fade as she became too weak to deliver care to her patients. Her puzzling symptoms were nearly impossible to diagnose by dozens of physicians. When she was finally diagnosed with Systemic Lupus Erythematous, the severity of her disease had already begun to affect her central nervous system.

When faced with a loss, although we are aware that medicine may no longer be able to offer a cure, the ability to heal still exists. In the medical field there are many paths one can take. Being raised by a doctor and a nurse, I was always well aware of the distinction between these professions. My most effective coping mechanism has been built upon finding a balance between the two, a career where I could work as a team with both of the images of the women in my family and continue to admire each for every aspect of the medical field they provided.