(Pre-PA) Medical Assistant School Question

I am trying to become a PA and want to strengthen my application for programs and am thinking of attending a college such as centura college, ECPI or Concorde to get my medical assisting certificate. Do for profit schools like this tend to be frowned upon or not desirable by pa program administrators? I have my bachelors degree from a university and am just wanting to get this certificate for hands on experience. 
Thank you!! 

Have you scouted medical offices? Primary Care or Urgent Care? These offices tend to hire unlicensed/non-certified personnel for MA positions and train them to their likings. Heck, some hospitals hire and provide on the job training for ED/ER Techs. 

I started as an MA before I went to nursing school and the Urgent Care trained me on the job. I say this because some MA certifying programs can take anywhere from 6-24 months and can be expensive. 

To answer your exact question; No, PA programs do not care if the MA program is for profit or non-profit. The certification is a stepping stone and I don't think they care where you got it. 

Edited by DiggySRNA
  • Thanks 1

On 3/14/2024 at 12:26 PM, MarleneStar said:

I am trying to become a PA and want to strengthen my application for programs and am thinking of attending a college such as centura college, ECPI or Concorde to get my medical assisting certificate. Do for profit schools like this tend to be frowned upon or not desirable by pa program administrators? I have my bachelors degree from a university and am just wanting to get this certificate for hands on experience. 
Thank you!! 

No, it doesn’t matter where you get your MA certificate from. You can see if you find somewhere they can train you OTJ and get you certified with experience. But that would take longer and would mean lower pay.

• Thanks 1