new medex applicants

hey everyone, 

I have some hesitancy posting this because I know it's not what people want to hear. You may have seen postings similar to this from other students/grads of the program in other forums, but I just wanted to make sure everyone applying now is aware of a few things with this program. I graduated in August and my classmates and I felt unsupported from the beginning of our didactic year. We had poor instruction, consistent faculty turnover, and it worsened during clinical year. I'm trying not to come across as angry here but the lack of education and general dismissal of students' needs during my time at medex continues to infuriate me. I know of a situation during clinical year when a student was basically denied an advisor during disciplinary proceedings- the majority of our true advisors had quit and the director of the program, Terry Scott, became our "advisor," in name only. When we graduated we knew one person out of the faculty sitting on that stage. This is not how I imagined my PA school experience and it seriously saddens me that this is how it went. Last thing, the PANCE scores this year are pretty bad. Huge drop- I believe Seattle campus is mid 80s, Spokane 70s, Kona 40s. Not certain about Tacoma or Ankorage, but these aren't that surprising given the education we received. 

I just want to encourage anyone who has other interviews to take them, and to seriously think about what each school is going to offer you and how you're going to be supported as a student. It's so important. I think someone said this previously but if you've accepted, I do hope this is improving for incoming students. Try your best to connect with faculty from the get-go (even if they leave) and support each other as much as you can. 

• Like 2

2 hours ago, newmedexgrad said:

hey everyone,