NHSC Scholar, now PA-C, thoughts on the program

I was awarded an NHSC scholarship back in 2020, and I wanted to share my experiences.

At first, of course, I was overjoyed at the prospect of completing my PA program without debt. The reality of it- they send you a monthly stipend, a yearly deposit for books/supplies, and every single fee, tuition, etc. is covered. It is HUGE. For my program, it ended up being about 150K.

During my clinicals, I started to feel trapped. A recruiter called it "golden handcuffs" because no one can really effectively buy you out of it (you'd have to default and then you'd owe 3x the amount they paid.) I loved working at one of my clinicals, and I wanted to work there- they had been an NHSC site in the past. They were willing to let me reapply, but after looking at the details I realized they just didn't qualify anymore. 

When I graduated (December 22) I knew I had a couple of options, but it was really hard for me. I wanted the freedom to choose whatever field I wanted- I wanted to try emergency med, I loved peds. 

BUT in the end, I found a good job 20 minutes from home that meets the requirements. I felt like I was settling, to be honest. BUT I sit here debt free with a whole career, pay and great benefits. 
In the end, it was worth it.

A few pointers. If you are not tied to a location (I am because of my husband's job), then the opportunities are awesome. I got recruitment emails from some of the most beautiful places in this country!

You can do your service requirement part-time and do something else part-time. 

Loans are crazy stressful, and PA school is HARD. I don't regret signing my life away to this contract. Besides, it's just 3 years! Who knows, maybe I'll stay forever.

I'm happy to answer any questions- Good luck out there!

• Like 5
  • Thanks 1