Need some Advice for Pre-health planning

Hello, 

Thank you in advance for taking time reading this and getting back to me with advice. I have seen that many parents want their children to go into med school because PA school is not the "best" option, although its increasingly becoming a popular choice in career. I have this story form my own future and would like to know if anyone could help me pin down what I should focus on before application process starts for both PA and Med school: 

I was always pre-med during my college run in NYU. However, after I graduated, I have recently been thinking about PA school while I am working on more healthcare experience as a research coordinator. However, my dad is not so pleased because he has told me that "You don't go to NYU to become a PA". This has ultimately made me very stressed out because I don't care about the salary of being a doctor or a PA. They are both well paying jobs and all I care about is wanting to be able to get into the workforce fast and make sure I have enough time for my girlfriend who I plan on marrying and having a family with. Seeing how PAs work along with doctors, I have ultimately enjoyed thinking about a PA and trying my best to understand the way they function in healthcare. Every time I think about becoming a doctor, Im dreading going through thousands of dollars just for prep before I can even see if I can get in. I don't want to lose any relationships with any of my family that I care so deeply about, but I also want to put in the work to become a PA in order to help the people around me that are not in their best health. Ultimately, I am only 23 years old, male, although being male should not matter for becoming a PA, and plan on applying for the next cycle that starts in April and wanted better advice on how to handle this situation or if you had any insight and tips on the decision that I have to make. I see Physician's assistants always putting in so much more work based on the doctors