An almost finalized PS!

I had the opportunity to observe a valve replacement in open-heart surgery while shadowing a cardiac Physician Assistant (PA). The operating room mirrored a critical environment where the role of the PA thrived and I admired how the interaction between the PA and surgeon gave balance to the entire surgery. It was here I gained a new level of appreciation for medicine. As a patient care technician (PCT) in the Progressive Cardiac Unit, I am actively involved with the care of these open-heart patients. I enjoy seeing the progression of the patient post-surgery and it moves me to not only experience what people can overcome, but to be a part of it. I came to fully understand my reasons to pursue the PA profession through my experiences shadowing, volunteering, and as a PCT.

As a patient care technician, I am gaining more confidence in hands-on clinical care. With 10 to 20 patients in my care per shift, I understand the importance of bedside manner as well as my responsibilities of analyzing vital signs, providing basic care, and communicating the needs of patients. A pre-heart catheterization patient told me “a disability is not a disability until you make it one”. I took notice his optimism over his amputated leg and use of a prosthetic one. Often, pre-operative patients have a sense of fear before going into surgery, which sometimes manifests physically increasing blood pressure, temperature, or heart rate. I will never forget that lesson and always attempt to influence a positive state of mind. Bedside interaction with patients is one of my greatest learning opportunities and I will carry the values learned here as a PA.