SUNY Downstate vs. CUNY York College

Hey guys,

I am having a heard time comparing two colleges that I have an interview with here in New York City. Suny Downstate and CUNY york college. SUNY Downstate was put on probation this year- accreditation status will be reviewed again in Sept 2021. I have heard from past students that this program is disorganized and lacks certain resources and that the not passing was not surprising ( my interview was also very disorganized and borderline unprofessional). I have also heard that even if they lose accreditation while I am a student that I will still be able to sit for the PANCE... Hopefully this is true. But despite these facts, I really liked the campus, the hospitals they have access too and the large groups of medical programs this school has- I realllly like. On the other hand, York college which is similar distance from my house, has similar PANCE rates and tuition as SUNY and is not on probation however the campus seems rundown, small, not in a safe area, and they have no cadaver lab. I just feel like I just don't have enough information to make it a quick- YES for me or a solid no either. If anyone has done your research on these schools or know someone first hand who graduated or is going through this program and have input-I would really appreciate it. Looking for bias and non-bias input! Thanks! 

• 2 years later...

Hey DwightRey,