PS Critique Please! - Thank You!!

As an impressionable young man with a hunger for progression, I continue to learn more about my personality, my character, my strengths, and my weaknesses – specifically as they pertain to the medical community. I feel that I have been both blessed and burdened with unrelenting thirst for knowledge. It has provided me with understanding and preparation for the inevitable challenges that lie ahead. No matter the amount of acquired talent or experience, the desire for attaining my goals outweighs the struggles along the way. The knowledge I have gained over the past few years has brought me to where I am today – fully committed to pursuing a career as a Physician’s Assistant. As a Kinesiology student and now as an EMT, I have become completely fascinated with the human body. Each and every person is unique, and I am continuously challenged by both the somatic diversity and the unique relationships that I am able to build with the patients I encounter. I have embraced the need for further knowledge of the human body, and in turn, desire to cultivate that education into a life-long career.

However, what good does my desire and knowledge serve in and of itself? I believe that the accumulation of knowledge I have gained through education and experience is useless if I fail to help others. I have been fortunate enough to spend time serving a variety of patients – from the impoverished indigenous in developing areas of Mexico, to the homeless and uninsured in Dallas’ Parkland ED, to young children with their entire futures at stake in the neighboring Children’s ER. Those I have encountered who are ill equipped and unable to provide themselves with adequate care have become the driving force behind my desire to become a PA.