Need feedback on Supplemental App PS

Good evening ya'll. I was wondering if someone could take a look at my PS for supplemental application. I'm not a strong writer at all and would appreciate the feedback on if i'm going in the wrong direction. We're supposed to write about how we fit into this particular program and we will help the PA program mission. The program I am writing this particular PS for is very primary care and helping underserved people. Please I want honest feedback, but don't be hateful, this is my first time doing this and I am trying. Thanks!

I believe that being a physician assistant is a contribution to society that I am eager to fulfill. Since the age of 17, I knew that I wanted to work somewhere in the healthcare industry, but wasn’t sure in what area or how I would obtain the education necessary. When I first entered college, I knew what I wanted, but couldn’t get the grades needed for me to succeed since I lacked the focus needed to pursue a medical degree. As a child I was lead to believe that I would not amount to much and that my aspirations of going to graduate school was not possible. I lived with this sentiment for many years; and it wasn’t until I joined the U.S. Army and with encouragement from instructors from the military physician assistant program and medical laboratory instructors that I finally gained the courage and confidence to prove to myself that I could do well in college. I also wanted to prove to others in my life that I could do well and graduate from a four year university. I have overcome that hurdle in my life and am now eager to prove to myself once again that I can do whatever I put my mind to.