New Graduate Entering Into Neurosurgery... Advice From Any Seasoned Pros?

As a new grad I have numerous questions about entering into the profession, but what would be especially helpful is any advice from working neurosurgical PAs for a new grad entering into the field. I did a 6 week elective rotation with the group who hired me on and am very excited to be entering into this specialty, but in those six weeks I was exposed to a ton on new information and situations. I will officially start in two weeks and now that boards are over with I can use this time to read up on some fundamental neurosurgical knowledge. I do already have Greenberg’s Handbook of Neurosurgery but outside of that I have no real direction in terms of where to start focusing my efforts. Thanks to all who respond, I sincerely appreciate it!

As a new grad I have numerous questions about entering into the profession, but what would be especially helpful is any advice from working neurosurgical PAs for a new grad entering into the field. I did a 6 week elective rotation with the group who hired me on and am very excited to be entering into this specialty, but in those six weeks I was exposed to a ton on new information and situations. I will officially start in two weeks and now that boards are over with I can use this time to read up on some fundamental neurosurgical knowledge. I do already have Greenberg’s Handbook of Neurosurgery but outside of that I have no real direction in terms of where to start focusing my efforts. Thanks to all who respond, I sincerely appreciate it!

• 2 weeks later...

I am also interested in what advice people have. I'm interested in neurosurgery and about to start a 6 week elective with a pediatric neurosurgery group that recently posting a job ad for a PA, so I'm hoping to get a job from the rotation, but I have no idea what to study - there's just so much!

Hopefully people reply!

• 9 months later...