Anyone have luck getting accepted with older prereqs?

Some of my lower level chem and bio classes are from 2002-2003. I have a MS in Nutrition that I receieved in 2008 and many higher level biochem, physiology etc classes are from 2006. I also have ~8000 HCE hrs as in clinical dietitian in a acute care facility.

Wondering if anyone has had luck getting into programs without retaking the lower level science classes by petitioning programs for consideration of waiving the 10 yr prereq expiration date.

Thanks in advance.

• 1 month later...

I think that since you took the higher level courses more recently it should definitely help you out. I took my A&P in 04/05 but took biochem/organic more recently and I have been accepted to a program. THe fact that you have a master's degree also shows that you can handle graduate work, so i think that you will be just fine!

I just was accepted into a program and I had many older prereqs. I graduated with my bachelor's in 2003, therefore several of my sciences were taken from 1999-2003. I did A&P plus Micro this past year so those were newer. I also had a Master's degree in Counseling that I completed in 2009.

I graduated undergraduate in 2000. A lot of my prereqs were before that (Chemistry, O Chem, Stats, and Genetics). My A&P, Micro, and Psych were recent. I started my PA program in 2011. My program didn't have a "recency requirement". Some do, some don't. It seems to depend on the particular program. Good luck