Frontline role

Hi all,

I graduated last year and am midway through a one-year critical care PA residency. Trying to plan for my next step and am interesting in getting additional training/experience.

Can anyone comment on the current role for a deployed PA, e.g. Army? I'm interesting in getting more experience with trauma and resuscitation, as much of the current cutting edge in that area is coming from the active duty military. That's not the only thing I ever want to do, and I recognize that some of my skills on the medical side would probably get a little rusty (not too many 84yo heart failure patients getting shot) but would be willing to make that compromise for some unique training.

On the other hand I'm not interested in sitting back at a base doing urgent care. I do have an interest in serving as well as in some of the financial benefits of a commission, but this would mainly be about the experience, so I wanted to see if anyone could comment on the actual positions and opportunities that I could expect to come across.

You would be doing a lot of time doing urgent care-type stuff, whether "back at base" or deployed. There isn't a whole lot of trauma resuscitation going on in the military right now (of course, that could change) as things aren't nearly as kinetic as they have been in the recent past. That said, the best trauma training the military offers is conducted at civilian trauma centers (in Miami and Los Angeles), primarily because that's where the volume is. There are a lot of good things about being a PA in the military, but if your primary goal is to get your hands on a trauma patient, there are better ways to do that (it would be quite possible to serve your entire term without ever seeing one).