Am I alone on this?

So I am graduating in Aug '11 and I honestly still feel like I know nothing. Maybe it is this rotation or maybe the fact that soon I will be a practicing PA. I am just feeling a little like even though I have passed all the tests and tasks up to this point, I still feel overwhelmed about how much I don't have settled in my mind. Am I alone on this?

I think it shows alot about your character that you are even willing to admit your feelings on this subject. I've been a hospital and clinic administrator for 10 years now and I've seen physicians, nurses and mid-levels that didn't know half of what they pretended to know and I guarantee you they would never admit to feeling humbled by the vastness of the profession as you have. This is the exact reason I have decided to go back to school to be a PA... you can never stop learning and bettering yourself as a care giver.

Hang tough my brother! We all believe in you.

JD

Thanks for your encouragement. I just am getting tired of not knowing everything. :-) I usually have one day of strong work, then another day of forgetting a couple easy things so it is a roller coaster for the ego. So just needed to vent. Thanks again.

I graduate in 6 weeks... All I can really say is that I don't know everything that I should know. It's frightening at times. I just remind myself that I'm not an imposter and that many successful PAs have come before me and felt the same way when they were new... It'll fade after a while, I hope. Only time will tell.

Andrew