Personal Statement Draft (please tear apart)

This is a draft of my personal statement. I've never written anything like this before, so I was hoping any of you could help set me on the right track! Any feedback or criticism is highly appreciated! Thanks for your time!

Red and blue came pouring in through my window – it was late. Undetected, I crawled to the stairs and peeked through the bars of the railing as paramedics pulled my mother out the front door. As a child, my parent’s decisions forced me to face many difficult circumstances. For years with minimal guidance, I struggled to persevere and to form my own identity. However, I realized that my experience with adversity was a unique advantage rather than a downfall. That the hardships I encountered helped build my character and bettered my ability to relate and empathize with others. Ultimately, the obstacles that I faced became my preparation for working with underserved populations.

Admittedly, I originally signed up for an EMT course because I thought that it would be the most interesting way to fulfill a required elective. However, as my professor perpetually warned us, I was “bitten by the bug” and developed a passion for healthcare. It was exciting, fascinating, and meaningful. A field where one can see and learn something new every day while simultaneously giving back to the community. It fulfilled my need to help others. It allowed me express my compassion and to put my high school superlative, “most likely to brighten up your day” to the test.