Pre-PA Majors and HCE Questions

I am currently a freshman majoring in athletic training and plan on applying to PA school after I graduate. I want to go into orthopedics so that is why I chose athletic training over a biology or chemistry major. I know I have to take a few extra classes to get all the requirements in, but the main part of the major is more interesting to me than biology or chemistry as well. We are required to be a student AT once we get into the program and the hours don't count toward a credit for a class, but they still are required. We do rotations at our school, a high school, and hospital. I was wondering if those hours would count towards the HCE hours for PA school, or do they have to be completely separate from my major?

If they do not count, I have been looking into Kinesiology with an exercise science focus because it would be a lot less time consuming not having to do all the AT hours while still giving me a good sports related and science base for PA school. Would you recommend doing one of these majors over another or think that my plan for the future is a good one?

Guest MedLib42

This thread might be a bit helpful to you: http://www.physicianassistantforum.com/index.php?/topic/9482-athletic-training/

Keep in mind that I can't speak for every program, as all programs have slightly different HCE requirements, and some are pretty lenient with what they will accept. But generally, no, clinical hours spent in a program - regardless of the type or quality of the clinical hours - don't count toward HCE for a PA program. 

Athletic training itself can be tricky to get approved as HCE - typically, schools only consider HCE to be direct, hands on patient care done in a medical setting. Many schools require it to be paid, outside employment (separate from your schooling). Patient care that involves medical care and procedures such as bathing, toileting, physical therapy, injections, blood draws, and the like is typically more competitive.