Welcome Feedback/Suggestions!

When I graduated from high school, I had felt liberated, but also lost as I realized that many of my close friends and the majority of my class would be leaving to attend four year universities, the same universities I had applied to but was rejected from. Instead, I would have to attend the local community college without any idea of what I wanted to do as a career, as at the time, my decision to attend university was based on experiencing the college life rather than the importance of building a solid foundation for my future. My father, a respiratory therapist, recognized my problem and encouraged me to apply for the respiratory program at the community college. He advised me that if I can become a respiratory therapist, it would provide me with a foundation on which I could reevaluate the direction of my life. Unable to conceive any reasonable options of my own, I followed my dad’s recommendation and was eventually accepted into the respiratory therapy program.

During this time in community college, I met and interacted on a consistent basis with many older classmates who returned to school due to a myriad of reasons, primarily unemployment, job insecurities, and family matters as well as the difficulties they had to endure juggling schoolwork, jobs, and family. These exchanges made me realize that I was at a point in life where I should be capitalizing on my education to establish a solid foundation that would not crumble easily in the future. From that point on, I committed myself to finishing the respiratory therapy program and establishing myself as a health care provider, eventually obtaining my respiratory therapy license and being hired at UCLA medical center.