Second draft...please provide feedback, deadline is soon

This is a revision based upon feedback from an earlier post.  I wasn't able to copy and paste this new version in the original thread.  I haven't yet proofed for grammar and tense.  I will do that later.  I'm more concerned about the content and if I'm on the right track.  Any feedback will be much appreciated.  I'd like to submit my application in the next few days.  I am not a strong writer and this is really difficult for me so please be gentle.  LOL.

Throughout college, I worked in several areas of the healthcare field.  In the hospital, I worked as a unit secretary on medical-surgical and cardiac step-down (telemetry) units, as well as in the outpatient surgery units.  When patients would come to my unit, I would take all the paperwork and assemble the patient’s chart.  Sometimes it was extensive if the patient had come from another facility and much smaller if the patient came through the ER.  Once the chart was assembled, the house physician would see the patient and write orders.  I would “take off” the orders and order the appropriate tests (labs, xrays, CT scans, respiratory treatments, medications, etc).  While on the medical surgical unit, I became familiar with common lab results.  My floor was always busy and the nurses would be running from one room to another.  Most times I would see the lab/xray results before they would.  I would look over the results and make sure to alert the nurses if anything was abnormal.  I became very familiar with medications that were prescribed for different diagnosis (cardiac, pulmonary, post-op, diabetes, etc).