Here is my personal statement...please advise!

Hi everyone, 

Here is my personal statement. I wondering if its too generic and/or impersonal for a PA school application essay?

Any advice would be appreciated. 

Thank you!

As a child, I cared for a pair of guinea pigs and nursed a few of their weaker offspring back to health. How did they know how to eat? How was it possible that one pup was the runt of the litter? How did the mother know to care for the pups but ignore the runt? I had many questions, and I developed a curiosity and passion for science and medicine.

As a student, my interests expanded beyond my personal petting zoo and into all facets of science.  I immersed myself in the study of biology, chemistry, and physics.

My love of medicine was mainly academic in nature. But then I began to volunteer at Hackensack University Medical Center and it opened an entirely new and enriching dimension for me; I realized that medicine was far beyond just administering drugs and diagnoses. I had the opportunity to sit with patients, get to know them, and care for their emotional well-being during extremely difficult recovery processes.

I witnessed a father chasing after his mentally-ill child down a hospital hallway. I worked with a bedridden elderly man who had broken his pelvis after taking a fall down the stairs. I sat with a middle-aged woman waiting for the lab results regarding a life-threatening illness. Together with the medical team I learned to not just help patients, but to restore their dignity and self-respect.

I want to be a Physician’s assistant because I want to educate patients, provide them with  better access to care, and work with doctors to give them the best medical treatments possible. But most of all, I want to be there for people when they are vulnerable and at risk.