Feedback on Personal Statement for First Time Applicant!

It was March of 2010 when I went on my first Alternative Spring Break trip. I was a freshman biology, pre-med major travelling up to intercity Philadelphia to work in soup kitchens and after school care. I had no idea what I was going to encounter. On that trip, I saw such poverty. I saw the human struggle face-to-face. I saw things that triggered me to think about my future goals and to realize that the strongest motivator for my future career was the simplest two letters: "Dr." (and of course the corresponding dollar signs). It was such a selfish motivation, one that I was ashamed to admit but grateful to discover.~

Though in the following weeks my desire to stay in the field of medicine would never change, I was inspired to look for a new type of career: one that relied more on teamwork than being the alpha dog, on compassion rather than credentials. I sought a career that offered lateral mobility, one where I would be able to serve where help was most needed. I sought a career where service was valued as an equal to knowledge. Ultimately, this journey introduced me to the career field of Physician Assistant, a field that was created to fill the needs of a society that was low on primary care physicians. A field that, at its very core, has the goal to serve where there is greatest need. It was the perfect fit, and it was something that the title of Dr. would have never allowed me to find.

The next few years of college passed and through the combination of service with alternative break trips, Relay For Life and Homeless Outreach, I continued to learn how big of a footprint the combination of dynamic teamwork, willing service, and resourceful knowledge could make.