Personal statement/marathon accomplishing goals, 3x applicant

Here is my personal statement. My weakness is writing so I could use any advice I can get especially on my conclusion!!! Thank you! 

My legs were throbbing, my mind was telling me to stop and I felt as though I was going to collapse. That was just the beginning of my first marathon. I thought to myself, “I have trained hard and long for this, I will not give up now.”

I was determined to achieve one of my biggest fitness goals: qualifying to run in the Boston Marathon.  I had been training for several months and injured myself to such an extent that my ability to run the 26.2 miles was uncertain.  I tossed and turned in order to avoid the electric pain and tingling down my leg.

During the weeks prior to the marathon, I decided to step back and prevent myself from permanent injury. My husband encouraged me and let me know that he would be proud of me for crossing the start line regardless of how many miles I completed. Deep down, I never allowed myself to get comfortable with the idea of stopping.

Early in the race I felt like stopping, but another runner looked me in the eye and said, “stay strong.” I kept repeating those words throughout the rest of the race. Runners encouraged one another to not give up, supporting each other along the way. It came especially important at mile 20. I was hitting the ‘wall.’  My legs suddenly felt heavy and my pace slowed to a near walk. A nearby runner was with a friend who wanted to stop. I overheard him say, “This is your dream, you can’t stop now.” I thought to myself, “This is MY dream, too.” As I passed them, he said to me, “Way to push through,” and that is when I knew with only six miles left, I could not stop when I have gotten this far.