New Daddy PA (first draft personal statement)

Please read and critique.

There are many events in my life that helped shape me into the man I am today. The day I enlisted into the Air Force, the day I became an EMT and the day I graduated from City College are among them. However, none of these events are more defining than the day my daughter was born. My wife in her protest against staying in hospitals and her own personal preference decided to do a home birth. I had been an EMT for only a year and never responded to any OB calls. However, we hired a midwife and a Doula which is a birthing coach. I remember that day so vividly; I remember the adrenaline rush I felt and how time seemed to ebb and flow in conjunction with each contraction she felt. I was reassuring my wife that everything was going to be fine; secretly hoping that she was only experiencing false labor pains. I took notes to record her contractions, how many? How long were they, and how far apart were they occurring? I had the midwife on the phone when my wife let out the loudest scream I had ever heard. "I better get up there!" the midwife exclaimed. I ran a warm water bath and laid sterile OB pads down on the living room floor. I was trying to think what in my EMT training could I do for her and realized that there was nothing medically to do. The only thing I could do for her is be there. I had to reassure her every step of the way. I had to make sure she knew that she was not alone I was right there with her. I followed her throughout the apartment holding her hand the whole time. Finally, in what seemed like an eternity, the midwife and the Doula showed up for support. The midwife was very soothing and calm having successfully delivered dozens of babies with no complication, we were going to be fine. I also knew that if an emergency did develop we would be prepared to transport her to Harlem hospital which was five minutes away. Eventually baby told mother it was time and my wife got on all fou