hoping to attend PA school

Hi, My name is Jeremiah and I am a Junior at winona state university in MN. I am an athletic training major and have a 3.94 GPA. The only problem is I have no "hands on" experience. I have worked in a hospital for about 5 years, but in food service, so it doesn't exactly count as experience. My hope is to have an orthopedic specialty and thought having an ATC certification will help in that aspect. Is there any chance of me getting accepted in the future?

Look in the accepted students statistics sticky thread and see if you can find someone with similar stats. There are a lot of posters like you recently with high GPAs and no direct experience. You may want to read through those threads. HCE is essential to becoming a PA

Thanks for your response. I had a possible plan of graduating and using my degree and working as a physician extender in an orthopedic clinic to get my experience. However while looking at schools, some will reject you if you haven't taken their pre reqs within the last 5 years. Is there a way around this? Otherwise, by the time I have experience, I may just need to retake classes that I already completed.

I think you'd be a fine candidate in the schools who require little or no HCE (health care experience). That said, you can get a job as a highschool ATC for a year or two and have all the HCE that even the "high level HCE schools" require. Better yet, get a job with a PT group who farms out their ATCs to the local high schools - that way you can garner perhaps more HCE than most schools require. Being an ATC is invaluable in PA school and beyond, in more specialties than just ortho. I worked in family practice prior to my current urgent care job and I can't tell you the amount that having the ATC behind my name helped me. Get your ATC, work for a while, then start applying. With a solid GPA, I think you'll be competitive.

Andrew