Rough Draft, need tough critique!!

Hey everyone, this is my first attempt at a personal narrative. I have whittled it down to within the character limit, but I want some new eyes to look at it. ANY criticism would be great for me, as I want to send my app in by the end of the week! Thanks!!!!:=D:

Lonely, scared, and unable to breathe, Theresa looked at me with frightful eyes. Nurses fluttered about the room, speaking in hushed tones. Sensing Theresa's discomfort, I instinctively took her hand and told her everything would be alright. Relief was visible in her face, as her wrinkled features relaxed. She smiled, and asked for me to stay. I held Theresa's hand until she drifted to sleep, choosing her comfort over the work I had yet to complete. Aesop once said, "No act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted." Theresa's reaction to my small gesture reaffirmed that mantra. Providing compassionate care is pivotal in developing a lasting relationship with a patient and I will continue to do so both as a nurses aide, and a future physician assistant (PA).