PAs in Research: Advice for a new grad?

Hey everyone,

I am currently a 2nd year PA student who is interested in pursuing research in addition to practicing medicine.

I graduate this Spring but I have no idea what I can reasonably expect as a new graduate.

I was hoping someone with more experience could inform me what has worked for them and perhaps share with me any advice on how to approach finding a good home for a new graduate who likes to do research. I have considered academic hospital centers my area, but I am uncertain how I should approach my job hunt. Should I sell myself as a PA or a researcher? Or both? Which one is more important? How valuable would a person like me be to these institutions? What about salary, would I make less money if I were doing less research and more clinical work?

A little background on myself, I am in the DC area and have several primary authorships to my name in medium impact journals all on antibiotic resistance. I’ve also won an award for my writing. I am interested in ID but finding the right work environment is more important to me than finding the exact field in which I have expertise.

Pay isn't a high priority for me.The most important thing to me is having the right mentor/team that will allow me to learn medicine while also developing my own research projects. Ideally I would like to work 2-4 days in the wards/clinic and 1-2 days on research (35-45 hours/wk).

Any guidance would be much appreciated. Thank you for your time and consideration!

Hey everyone,

I am currently a 2nd year PA student who is interested in pursuing research in addition to practicing medicine.

I graduate this Spring but I have no idea what I can reasonably expect as a new graduate.