SOS advice on failed PANCE attempts

Hi guys,

I am a new PA graduate student. I have taken the PANCE exam twice already, both times scoring within 10 points of passing. The second time i went through CME 5-day course in which i scored slightly above average. Today, i found out that i failed my second attempt. What's next? I feel that clinically i am a strong, but it just does not reflect on standardized tests. Are there any states where a PA degree is sufficient to find work, and one can practice without having to pass the PANCE exam?

Thanks,

PA Dreamer

The PANCE is the ticket you need to obtain licensure in any state jurisdiction. I will defer to federal folks on this forum, but I think that there are some federal jurisdictions in which you can work without NCCPA certification. Hang in there and keep studying. You need to obtain your NCCPA. You might also consider taking a course in generic test taking. Many people are very smart, but just don't do well on standardized tests.

Not anymore.

You MUST pass PANCE on your next attempt. Two failures will already limit your licensure in many states and you cannot afford to fail a 3rd time.

Talk to your program. Get some help. I recommend LOTS of sample test questions--at least 2000 of them. Simulated exams are critical for you. Another review session with passive learning will not benefit you at all.

Consider the Kaplan PANCE prep qbank.

Remember passing PANCE is MINIMUM competency. I don't care if you're within 10 points of passing--it's not enough. Shoot for as high a score as possible and your anxiety will be much less.

Good luck.

OK, here is my honest advice, and please don't take offense to any of this. I'm just being honest and trying to give you the information you need, not what you want to hear.