NP student needs a preceptor; program wants a resume and references... from nurses

I'm not mad, I'm just confused.

I work in an Urgent Care, and I'm part of a big health system. I'm a solo provider, working evenings and weekends, so it's just me, the lab tech, the X-ray tech, the front desk person, and my trusty LPN or CMA as rooming staff. Aside from the NP who I alternate weekends with, I don't think I know any "Masters or Doctorate-trained nurses," which apparently is where I have to get my references from.

Hopefully my SP will suffice.

I can't tell if I should be offended or not. This is a newer relationship between my employer and this NP program, which I gather is one of the newer ones around here. I understand that when I was a student, all my preceptors must have gone through some sort of vetting process, and in principle I think of this as a good thing. Quality control and all; a lousy preceptor often means a lousy learning experience.

But I want to say "come on guys, this student is going to be in her practicum. Don't you think it's time to ease up on the 'Nursing vs Medical' rhetoric? She'll be out in the real world soon enough, and as far as my employer and job description are concerned she and I will theoretically be interchangable."

Anyone else go through something like this? Are there red-flag signs that would alert me I don't want to be a preceptor for a given program?