Moving to Montana as new grad, curious about job market

Hello! 

I am currently a student in Reno, NV and will be taking the PANCE this August. I will most likely be moving to Missoula MT after I graduate for my husband's job. I saw a post on here from a few years back about applying for jobs as a new grad in MT that was pretty discouraging. I'm curious if things have changed, any PA's in Missoula that could provide me with some insight? I appreciate it!

• Upvote 1

I am from Missoula, and it is extremely saturated and becoming worse. So many people moved to Montana during the pandemic, it really changed the landscape for jobs here and not in a good way, and doubled the cost of housing.

During the pandemic it got bad. I had two experienced PAs working with me at the health department for $30 an hour that were both laid off from their clinics and couldn't find jobs in Missoula, and couldn't move due to kids/home situation.

I have a friend who graduated last year and ended up taking a job on the reservation and lives there during workweek because he couldn't find decent employment in Missoula or the bitterroot valley. He did get one offer from an urgent care but he would only be paid 85K and the patient load and benefits were not worth it (they ended up hiring an NP who took that salary btw). The university is a decent place to work, but again the salary is on the low end ($40-45 an hour). The community health center in Missoula is excellent, pays well but it is very competitive to get into. It would be an awesome place to work as a new grad because of loan forgiveness and the staff are very supportive. I would call them up and see if they are hiring.

Most of the surgical PA jobs I have seen require 2+ years experience and a ton of call. Providence is the only hospital I would work for in town there.