PA Coaching

HI ALL:smile:,

I am considering hiring a PA Coach. I need some guidance deciding on which schools I stand the best chances with, as well as strengthening my portfolio. I have several years experience as a paramedic, hold a 3.65 prerq gpa, and also have a diverse bucket of life experiences. I also need to boost my GRE scores. However, I am an older/returning student and want to align with a professional who can assist me in synthesizing the information in front of me, and paring my choices and needs into doable portions. I have read about both Andrew Rodican and Dave DuBose. Is anyone willing to share their insights/experiences with a coach? I do not know who/how to choose one. Thanks to everyone for reading and I look forward to your feedback.

In Peace,

Erika

I am not convinced you need a coach. However, perhaps a mentor of someone already working in the field would help you out? As a medic, I assume you have close contact with at least some PAs in the ER. If not, talk to the ER docs and see of they have buddies who are PAs..start networking. Maybe you can look at the alumni list from the schools that you want to attend and see if any of those PAs are local to you and if they would be willing to sit down with you?

As a paramedic with a respectable GPA AND life experience, you really can write your own ticket into a lot of programs assuming of course you can write a decent personal statement/essay and interview well.

UW/Medex is one such place.. and the GRE holds very little weight with them. When I attended their information session someone asked about the GRE. Their reply was "we just care that you took it for the Masters program. Your score isn't that important".

Steve (Just Steve),