Acceptance to PA School..

Guest VillarazaM

Guest VillarazaM

I'm currently an undergrad interested in PA. I graduate in December so I'm preparing to apply to PA school.. So I know they look at GPA, interview,letters, etc.. how important is the experience part? What did you all do for experience (shadow, volunteer, etc...) any help would be appreciated! I am wanting to shadow this summer but have yet to find a PA!

experience is VERY, VERY, VERY important. Many programs won't look at you without a minimum of 1000 hours PAID experience. Some even have requirements as high as 3000 (that i have seen). I worked as a home health aid and PT aid. Shadowing is good but DOES NOT count as HCE.

The relative importance of experience, grades, LORs, and personal statement varies tremendously school to school. More is better on everything but some schools weight HCE a lot more than others.

But anyway, get as much HCE as you can no matter where you are applying. I was light (1500 hours professional; 500 volunteer / shadowing) and every experience I had as a CNA and EMT comes back to me as I am taking classes. I know a lot more about nomenclature, drugs, diseases, and dealing with patients than my classmates who had less experience. Studying lungs in Clinical Medicine - I know what an asthma attack looks like. Studying hearts or kidneys, I've seen (and dealt with) patients with those issues. Don't think "How little can I get away with" but rather "How can I get more". Working, volunteering in an ER, and shadowing all teach you a lot about the practice of medicine.

• 2 years later...