loans for tuition and living expenses while in PA school

Guest nonenino

Guest nonenino

Good morning to all of you. I wanted to ask for any "non-traditional" student who are currently in PA school and have families to support, advise about loans. I think it may be a bit difficult to attend PA school and work part time at the same time. Yet I have a wife and a daughter to support while in school. Don't know much about loans, but I do know that I may not be eligible for much assisatnce as I have been working full time for the past 5-7 years and I already have an undergraduate degree. Any words of wisdom from anyone on my same shoes? Thank you kindly! God bless you all!

Nonenino

I'll be in the same boat, so keep the thread alive! The PA program financial aid office should be able to help you, but I too am concerned with the prospect of getting loans after having already paid off the undergrad and buying a house. Keeping the kiddos fed is definitly going to be a priority:) I'm sure that my current income is going to hinder getting ANY federal aid as it was/is more than the starting salary for a PA new grad, however if you qualify the Perkins loan is based on financial need. Stafford loans max at 18.5 K /yr. There's always the National Health Service scholarship if you are willing to commit to an underserved area after you graduate. A list of alternative loan sources from private lenders was provided by the FA office as well(most likely my prime source of funding). Please PM if you want the list and good luck...:D

• 1 year later...
Guest smosley77

I am also trying to find a way to afford PA school while supporting a wife and a 5 month old. I would love to get a copy of that list of private lenders. I am pretty sure that I will be getting a good bit of my financing that way as well. Thank you for posting this, hopefully someone will post the "secret to paying for PA school while supporting a family" here soon.