NYC Away Rotation - Housing?

Guest ehixson

Guest ehixson

I'm a Midwestern PA student attempting to set up a rotation in NYC. The only obstacle so far (or potential obstacle) is the housing situation. Basically I'm looking for any advice or information on how or what PA students do for housing in the NYC area that don't live there. Thanks.

• 3 weeks later...
Guest redgiant66

Hey I'm a native of New York City. First of all, if you get a rotation there you should post how you got it.

They usually dont like out of state students to rotate there because the PA schools there (11 of them) already have affilitaions with most hospitals.

I'm an out of state student and I'm having trouble finding rotations in my own state due to this reason.

As far as housing, if you do a google search under NY Dormitory, or NY hostel you can find a place. They have educational dorms that are 50-75 bucks a week all over the city.

If I can help you further just send me an email or a PM. We're in the same boat.

Now that someone mentioned the word hostel, there is one on 20th street between 7th and 8th Avenue. It's in the "hottest" neighborhood in Manhattan. It's the International Hostel and most of the time I see young people from Europe hanging around there.

The neighborhood is safe, in fact, there's a police precinct on the block.

It's close to most subway lines.