Research vs Volunteering

Hey everyone,

I'm a junior-level transfer student at a University of California. 

As a new student at my school, I don't feel prepared for a heavy work load, so I'm choosing to either go into clinical research at a nearby med school/hospital or declare a minor that will eventually lead me to volunteer internationally doing public health/medical/clinical work for a min. of 6 weeks. 

I spoke with two PAs who told me that research experience isn't very valuable to PA programs and that real HCE as a EMT/CNA/MA would be preferred. I am a trained MA, but I am not looking for employment and I haven't found very many places that will trust a "volunteer" with injections and venipuncture. I am certain that I will be able to do hands on work with patients abroad, but then again...I find the research that I am interested in to be very impressive. I would be able to communicate with patients (participants in the research), neurosurgeons,  and other health professionals on staff. Although I'd be communicating with patients, it would just be through assessments rather than actual "back-office" work. Also, there'd be a pretty big commute from where I'm staying to the hospital, so I don't know how much I'd really contribute to the research with the few hours that I have available. 

Any input? 

• 1 month later...
Guest MedLib42

It's true - research isn't particularly useful on a P.A. school application. Most accepted P.A. applicants go in with several thousand hours HCE (typically paid) and several hundred hours volunteer work, but research really doesn't count for much, even if you're talking to patients.