Time for a raise?

Hi,

I wanted some of your opinions on my situation.

I am currently working part-time in an internal medicine sub-specialty in jacksonville, FL and make $40/hr. I was a new grad when i started working here, and am coming up on one year. I work 20hrs/week, no call, no weekends. The only additional benefit I get is malpractice with tail coverage.

I have kept tract of how many patients I see, and average ~180 patients/month (an average of 6-15 patients in 4 hours, usually averaging around 10). I don't know how much I am generating for my practice. I am coming up on one year, and I needed some guidance on what is an appropriate raise to ask at the one year mark? Should I ask for a performance evaluation? or is it too soon to ask for a raise? I have looked at the 2010 Salary Report and make more than the median for my experience and specialty.

Any advice is appreciated.

You have been at the practice for almost a year and no performance evaluation yet?  Yes, ask for one.  Also, ask to see your numbers from the practice manager or whoever keeps track of the billing.  How is billing done?  Is it incident to or by your NPI number alone?   Once you know how much has been billed out under your NPI (or the physician's NPI) then you can ask what percent is collected.   You will then know how much you are making the clinic and how much you cost them.  This is probably too simplistic of an answer and some clinics do not readily give up their data to the practitioners if you are not a partner.   

If you are making them tons of money then ask for a BIG raise.  They are giving you  no benefits and for a part-time employee you deserve a whole lot more.  What specialty are you in?  

• 2 weeks later...