Adding another PA to surgeon-PA pair?

Surgical subspecialty PA here. Work hours were reasonable to start, but have steadily increased due to the workload. Surgeon and I discussed possible fixes, including adding another provider for nonsurgical duties (rounds, discharges, etc). Although I'm all for making my life easier, I'm worried that adding another provider might take away from our current setup. Not that the quality of care would be affected, but goodbye are the days of seeing the patient all the way through -- pre-op, intraop, and post-op. Anyone have experience with this kind of situation? Any advice?

That would be the idea. But on the other hand, I'd almost rather just negotiate more pay for these extra hours and perhaps hiring another support staff member to help. Did you have any experience with adding another PA? If so, did you notice any change in the work environment or things getting missed with patients?

I'm still a student but I worked with a group that had a similar set up.  1 doc, 2 PAs, all saw their own patient panel in clinic two days a week.  One PA assisted in the OR on Tuesdays with inpatient, larger operations and the other PA assisted in the OR on Thursdays when it was outpatient procedures.  They each rounded 2 days a week in the morning.  It was a pretty good set up for them and it seemed to work. 

However, if you want to be the only one in the OR you'll just have to find a PA that'd be willing to accept that role.  I don't know how much I would like just seeing pre-ops, post-ops, and rounding on patients that I had no part in the surgery in. Hope it all works out for you though!