Failing a course during last year of college...

Hello

I am looking to apply this year to PA Graduate programs. I was just looking for some insight as to my chances for acceptance. I am a recent college graduate that completed her degree in Biology in 3 years, however, graduating a year early due to finances (I explain in my Personal Statement) resulted in my GPA dropping to a 2.8 and failing a course my last year. If I have a strong work ethic, was devoted to developing community during my time in college, and accumulated 2500 clinical hours during my undergrad, do I still have a chance of getting in somewhere? Are there programs that do not care as much about the GPA and more so about the person as a whole. I feel confident that if I were to get an interview I could hopefully get in somewhere, I'm just worried about being rejected before having the opportunity to interview.

Any thoughts, suggestions, feedback?

Hi Natasha

You need to repeat that failed course and NAIL the GRE. Also, you better have a terse yet well written essay as to your circumstances -- eluding to your academic ability and proving you WILL be able to complete a hard intense graduate program. Everything is possible but you have an uphill battle and will need evidence to support your selection.

Good luck.

No one can answer those questions but a real admissions committee, so apply where you think you'd like to go, and hope for the best. If you're looking for more general impressions, then...

2.8 is a very low GPA, and one failed course doesn't account for it. If you graduated in 3 years, AND racked up 2500 hours over that time, the easy response is that you spread yourself too thin, and you took on too much, possibly to the detriment of everything. The pointed question, the kind an adcom would ask in order to see how you think and how you present your case, would be whether it would have been better to slow down, do less at once, and get better results.