Surgery Contract Negotiations

Hey Fellow PA's, I would like your opinions on what I should do.

When I graduated from PA school, I worked as an Internal Medicine PA for two years where I saw inpatient and outpatient patients. Then I changed to neurosurgery. I thought my salary was low, but the company told me it's because I have no experience in surgery and that we can revisit my contract in 1 year. Well, my 1 year is almost up. I would like to know what I should ask because I don't want to be unrealistic but I don't want to be taken advantage of either.

My current contract: $78,000 salary, $1,100 for CME, 3 weeks paid vacation, malpractice insurance paid, health/dental/life insurance (I paid part of it). I'm on-call 10 days out of the month (I do not get paid for being on call or when I get called out). On average, I work 60 hrs a week, but some weeks I'm pushing 80 hrs, make rounds 7 days a week (I'm the only PA), I assist in surgery, make rounds in the hospital, and I see clinic patients.

So, having two years of internal medicine and one year of neurosurgery, what should I ask for in this contract negotiation?

Thank You!

Although I'm only a student, 78k for 60-80 hrs a week is laughable and pulls down the standard for all PAs across the board. What is that, 25-28/hr?? Seriously? I think as a 3 yr PA, you need to renegotiate for way more base, and at the least some call coverage pay or consider leaving this place. It sounds like you're not valuing your worth. With a year in neuro, I'd be clamoring for upwards of 90k+ at a minimum. Shoot, I'd go for 90+ as a new grad.